Hot Band Alert: Big Thief marries sensitivity and gritty rock for a poignant sound

Big Thief

Big Thief is an indie rock band that has just signed to Saddle Creek and is quickly on the rise. They head out to SXSW and then on a North American tour in support of Yuck. We at Grimy Goods think this is a band you should keep your eye on.

Front woman Adrianne Lenker’s voice is at the center of Big Thief’s sound. A passionate singer that lets the sensitivity of her voice hang just on the edge of broken. She’s been writing and singing since she was a young teenager and has traversed through the terrain of folk, pop and rock; all of which you can hear in her songwriting. She’s been compared to Laura Marling with the song writing chops of Jewel. With Big Thief she interjects an angst into the sound. Big Thief has struck that near impossible balance of charming harmonies and ragged rock that still somehow holds onto an emotional self awareness. On their single “Masterpiece” Lenker roams with a quivering voice singing reflective lyrics over fuzzy garage rock guitars.

“This place smells like piss and beer/Can you get me out/ You are asking me/ How to get you free/ I only know the recipe to roam.”

Her voice may yearn but her guitar sings strength and power. When she wonders into melodies with guitarist Buck Meek they sway easily together and you can hear her folk roots come through. Three quarters of the way through, an unexpected gritty and crunchy guitar solo rambles reminding us that this is rock ‘n’ roll.  “Masterpiece” is indie rock at its finest offering up an ear worm that is compelling and uncompromising in its musicality.

Catch them in Los Angles March 24th at the Echoplex.

Words: Anne Marie Schiefer

Big Thief recently shared their new video for “Masterpiece,” a song that will be part of their debut album for Saddle Creek.

BIG THIEF TOUR DATES
Sat. Mar. 12 – Atlanta, GA @ Aisle 5 w/ Yuck, Sunflower Bean
Sun. Mar. 13 – Baton Rouge, LA @ Spanish Moon w/ Yuck
Wed. Mar 16 – Sat. Mar 19 – Austin, TX @ SXSW
Mon. Mar. 21 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom w/ Yuck, Sunflower Bean
Tue. Mar. 22 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Bunkhouse Saloon w/ Yuck
Wed. Mar. 23 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar w/ Yuck
Thu. Mar. 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echoplex w/ Yuck
Fri. Mar. 25 – Visalia, CA @ The Cellar Door w/ Yuck
Sat. Mar. 26 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall w/ Yuck
Mon. Mar. 28 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios w/ Yuck
Tue. Mar. 29 – Vancouver, BC @ Fortune Sound Club w/ Yuck
Wed. Mar. 30 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile w/ Yuck
Thu. Mar. 31 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux w/ Yuck
Fri. Apr. 1 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Metro Bar w/ Yuck
Sat. Apr. 2 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge w/ Yuck
Sun. Apr. 3 – Omaha, NE @ Lookout Lounge w/ Yuck
Mon. Apr. 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry w/ Yuck
Tue. Apr. 5 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon w/ Yuck
Wed. Apr. 6 – Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle w/ Yuck
Thu. Apr. 7 – Ferndale, MI @ The Loving Touch w/ Yuck
Fri. Apr. 15 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel w/ Yuck

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *