Hot Band Alert: Stream GEMS’ new single “Living As A Ghost” off forthcoming debut album

Photo Credit: Kristen Wrzesniewski

Washington DC-based GEMS have shared a new song titled “Living As A Ghost.” The lush song is the first single from GEMS’ forthcoming debut album Kill the One You Love which is set for release October 30th on Carpark Records.

Comprised of Lindsay Pitts and Clifford John Usher, GEMS first dipped into the scene with their self released Medusa EP (2013). Showcasing the enchanting vocals of Pitts paired with the dreamscape production of Usher, the dynamic duo commanded our attention with their succulent dream wave sounds. Fast forward a couple years and GEMS are ready to reveal their debut album. We last caught the duo opening up for Little Boots at The Echo this past July. GEMS had a mesmerizing effect on us as well as the instantly pleased crowd.


GEMS’ new single “Living As A Ghost” builds upon where the band left off with their transcending Medusa EP. The new song is a catchy dream pop delight full of anthemic hooks that shimmer like a sugar coated plum. The production on the song is immaculate. With its organic build up and lulling breaks, it soars with bright energy that you can almost touch.

Fans of The xx, Clams Casino and Tycho will enjoy GEMS’ forthcoming debut album Kill the One You Love. You can stream GEMS’ new song “Living As A Ghost” below.

gems band

Kill the One You Love Cover Art

GEMS – Kill the One You Love Tracklisting
(October 30th, 2015 | Carpark Records)

1. Blood Runs
2. w/o u
3. Soak
4. Living As A Ghost
5. Empires Fall
6. Heartbreaker
7. Scars
8. Tangled Memories
9. Savior
10. Epitaph
10. White Light


Little Boots brings out the “Working Girl” and works The Echo into a dance frenzy

Jamie xx blasts the Echoplex with “In Colour” at sold-out performance

Concert Etiquette — 12 annoying things that people do at shows (just DON’T do it)

Win Tickets to GEMS at Los Globos

Stream GEMS’ Medusa EP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.