Recommended: Parquet Courts release new album “Content Nausea” under Parkay Quarts

parquet courts live photos

Parquet Courts, a band that prides themselves in not falling in the clutches of social media or major label ownership (although they do have a functioning Facebook page), have continued strong with their DIY tenor and have dropped their second record this year. The Brooklyn-based indie-post-punkers received much critical acclaim for their June 2014 release, Sunbathing Animal. Now the band are keeping those wheels turning and have fleshed out yet another records to close the calendar year. With 12 tracks of dissonant, yet harmonious songs, Parquet Courts is set to release their fourth studio album, Content Nausea under the close monicker of Parkay Quarts.

The records falls somewhere between and EP and LP, but it’s chock-full of post-punk greatness. Channeling the stripped down sounds of early punk recordings, Content Nausea was recorded, mixed and mastered in two weeks on a 4-track tape machine. Similar to the punk ethos of keeping a song under two minutes, Parquet Courts were able to deliver an entire potent album at a comparable time constraint.

From drone-y songs such as “Psycho Structures” to the noise-infused spokenword of “Map” and a badass Nancy Sinatra cover of “Boots”, as well as a 13th Floor Elevators cover of “Slide Machine” — Parquet Courts still thrash out the full fledged punk in songs like “Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth”. Content Nausea is truly a brilliant album not only in its raw sound, but the fact that it was created a very short amount of time.

Parquet Courts (Parkay Quarts) new record Content Nausea is available to stream before its official release date (stream below). The album will be released in the US digitally on November 11 via What’s Your Rupture? (worldwide digital release via Rough Trade on Nov. 17; tangible content will be available Dec. 2nd).

Additionally, Parquet Courts will be reuniting with bassist Sean Yeaton and drummer Max Savage for their hometown show on December 11 at Webster Hall, followed by some newly announced 2015 tour dates (listed below).

 

PARQUET COURTS, PARKAY QUARTS, AND PCPC TOUR DATES
Thu. Nov 6 – Washington DC @ DC9 (as Parkay Quarts)
Sat. Nov 8 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA (as Parkay Quarts)
Thu. Nov 13 – Lille, France @ Le Grand Mix (as Parkay Quarts)
Fri. Nov14 – Paris, France @ La Cigale (as Parkay Quarts)
Sat. Nov 15 – Nantes, France @ Stereolux (as Parkay Quarts)
Mon. Nov 17 – Toulose, France @ Bikini (as Parkay Quarts)
Wed. Nov 19 – Oostende, Belgium @ De Zwerver (as PCPC)
Thu. Nov 20 – Brussels, Belgium @ Botanique (as Parkay Quarts)
Fri. Nov 21 – Utrecht, Holland @ Le Guess Who (as Parkay Quarts)
Sat. Nov 22 – Amsterdam, Holland @ The Vrankrijk (as PCPC)
Sun. Nov 23 – Utrecht, Holland @ Le Guess Who (as PCPC)
Mon. Nov 24 – Ramsgate, UK @ Ramsgate Music Hall (as PCPC)
Tue. Nov 25 – London, UK @ Electroworkz (as PCPC)
Wed. Nov 26 – Leeds, UK @ Wardrobe (as Parkay Quarts)
Thu. Nov 27 – London, UK @ The Laundry (as Parkay Quarts)
Sat. Nov 29 – Koln, Germany @ Museum Ludwig (as Parkay Quarts)
Sun. Nov 30 – Zurich, Switzerland @ Rote Frabrik (as Parkay Quarts)
Thu. Dec. 11 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall (as Parquet Courts)
Sat. Jan. 24 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar (as Parquet Courts)
Sun. Jan. 25 – Charlottesville, VA @ The Southern (as Parquet Courts)
Mon. Jan. 26 – Raleigh, NC @ Kings (as Parquet Courts)
Wed. Jan. 28 – Athens, GA @ 40 Watt (as Parquet Courts)
Thu. Jan. 29 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl (as Parquet Courts)
Fri. Jan. 30 – Gainseville, FL @ The Wooly (as Parquet Courts)
Sat. Jan. 31 – Tampa, FL @ American Legion Hall (as Parquet Courts)
Mon. Feb. 2 – Tallahassee, FL @ Club Down Under (as Parquet Courts)
Tue. Feb. 3 – Pensecola, FL @ Vinyl Music Hall (as Parquet Courts)
Wed. Feb. 4 – Birmingham, AL @ The Bottletree (as Parquet Courts)
Thu. Feb. 5 – Nashville, TN @ Exit/In (as Parquet Courts)
Fri. Feb. 6 – Asheville, NC @ The Mothlight (as Parquet Courts)
Sat. Feb. 7 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat (as Parquet Courts)
Sun. Feb. 8 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church (as Parquet Courts)

 

Parkay Quarts Content Nausea album cover art:

Parkay Quarts Content Nausea cover art

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *