Flying Lotus Reveals New EP: “Pattern+Grid World”

We all know how amazing Flying Lotus’Cosmogramma” was, with his luscious trip-hop and exotic beats that took you on a an epic aural journey through an unknown dimension. Well now the beat master, Flying Lotus (aka Steven Ellison) is ready to release his new EP “Pattern+Grid World.” Check out the EP artwork! That shit is crazy dope!

While “Cosmogramma” is a monolithic convergence of 20th and 21st century musical forms, high in concept and wide in musical collaboration, “Pattern+Grid World” pulls the focus back to Ellison and his machines. These machines are speaking (and possibly looking as well, judging by the EP’s cover) from the go, as “Clay” introduces itself in a fog of synth and vocoder and gives way to one of the many surprises here, the schizophrenic ping-ponging electro of “Kill Your Co-Workers.” Drenched in alternating melodies, it’s a synthetic counterpart to the grand string and harp arrangements of “Cosmogramma”, making acclaimed illustrator Theo Ellsworth’s subtly psychedelic cover image of vision-through-noise all the more intimate.

Stream “Camera Day” from the “Pattern+Grid World” EP below!

Flying Lotus – Camera Day (taken from Pattern+Grid World) by Warp Records

Flying Lotus North American Fall Tour Dates

  • Aug 18 – London, UK – ICA (INFINITY show feat. Ravi Coltrane, Thundercat and full band)
  • Sept 02 – Montreal, QC – Studio Just For Laughs
  • Sept 03 – Toronto, ON – Phoenix Theatre
  • Sept 04 – New York, NY – Electric Zoo Festival
  • Sept 05 – Chicago, IL – North Coast Music Festival
  • Sept 22 – Vancouver, BC – Commodore Ballroom
  • Sept 23 – Seattle, WA – Decibel Festival
  • Sept 24 – San Francisco, CA – Mezzanine
  • More TBA!

“Pattern+Grid World” Track list:

1. Clay

2. Kill Your Co-Workers

3. PieFace

4. Time Vampires

5. Jurassic Notion/M Theory

6. Camera Day

7. Physics For Everyone!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.