Hot Band Alert: Automatic share anxious rock single “Too Much Money” from new album Signal

Photo by Logan White

A few decades ago L.A. trio Automatic—with their eclectic and unpolished rock leanings—might’ve found themselves at home opening for the likes of Blondie. Comprised of Izzy Glaudini (synths/vocals), Lola Dompé, (drums/vocals) and Halle Saxon (bass/vocals), Automatic was formed in the heart of L.A.’s DIY scene. Their new single “Too Much Money” reveals as much: a smoldering collision of anxious guitar-drum driving itself against looped synths, the track is a short but emphatic warning of the pitfalls of social media.

With its elastic bass-line and Glaudini-Dompé’s back-and-forth—one a droning murmur, the other a bubbly shout—”Too Much Money” feels like a dusted-off classic from a decade long-past. The band even take their name from a Go-Go’s song—a homage to the only all-female rock band to have a number one album in the U.S. But while their music might ignite a certain callback to the decades-old sounds of early iterations of new wave and punk rock, Automatic have their own varied tastes—from dub reggae, motorik rhythms, and gnarly synth-work—that texture their upcoming debut album Signal.

Listen to Automatic’s new song “Too Much Money” below!

This August, Automatic will be playing four nights at The Echo for their Monday night residency before heading overseas for a brief tour. Their new album Signal is out September 27 via Stone Throw Records.

Keep up with Automatic via their website, Facebook, and Instagram to stay updated on new music and tour announcements.

Automatic tour:
8/5 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
8/12 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
8/19 -Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
8/26 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
10/17 – Paris, France @ L’Aéronef
10/19 – Groningen, Netherlands @ Vera
10/20 – Eindhoven, Netherlands @ DDW Music Festival
10/22 – London, UK @ Shacklewell Arms
10/23 – Bristol, UK @ The Lanes
10/25 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ London Calling Festival
10/28 – Berlin, Denmark @ Urban Spree
10/29 – Antwerp, Belgium @ Trix


Signal tracklist:
1. Too Much Money
2. Calling It
3. Suicide In Texas
4. Love You FIne
5. Highway
6. Signal
7. Humanoid
8. Damage
9. Electrocution
10. Champagne
11. Strange Conversations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.