Animal Collective tease album with dizzying new track “Lying in the Grass”

AnimalCollective-3

There’s always been a measurable amount of freaky experimentalism within the abruptly groovy and psychedelic tones of Animal Collective, but the band’s latest single “Lying in the Grass” from the upcoming Painting With is haltingly emphatic with its whirlwind of synth buzzing and staccato vocals. Rolling forward on a haphazard beat of giddy hums and warbles, the vividly dreamy track is less melodious than their first single “FloriDada,” but the songs’ contrasts are a promising hint that the band’s tenth studio album will be full of deeply intricate and eclectic cuts.

Be sure to catch Animal Collective when they return to Los Angeles at The Fonda theatre, where they’ll no doubt offer up a number of their new and whimsical tunes.

Painting With is out February 19 via Domino Records.

 

Animal Collective Tour Dates
Fri Feb 19 || Philadelphia, PA || Union Transfer || SOLD OUT *
Sat Feb 20 || Portsmouth, NH || 3S Artspace || SOLD OUT *
Mon Feb 22 || Boston, MA || Royale Boston || SOLD OUT *
Tues Feb 23 || New York, NY || Irving Plaza || SOLD OUT *
Wed Feb 24 || New York, NY || Irving Plaza || SOLD OUT *
Fri Feb 26 || Columbus, OH || Newport Music Hall || SOLD OUT *
Sat Feb 27 || Chicago, IL || Concord Music Hall || SOLD OUT *
Sun Feb 28 || Minneapolis, MN || First Avenue || TIX *
Tues Mar 1 || Denver, CO || Ogden Theatre || TIX *
Wed Mar 2 || Salt Lake City, UT || The Depot || TIX *
Fri Mar 4 || Seattle, WA || Neptune || SOLD OUT *
Sat Mar 5 || Portland, OR || Roseland Theater || SOLD OUT *
Mon Mar 7 || Oakland, CA || Fox Theater || TIX *
Tues Mar 8 || Los Angeles, CA || The Fonda Theatre || SOLD OUT *
Wed Mar 9 || Los Angeles, CA || The Fonda Theatre || SOLD OUT *
Fri Mar 11-Sun Mar 13 || Phoenix, AZ || McDowell Mountain Music Festival || TIX
Fri Apr 1 || Brussels, Belgium || Botanique – Orangerie || TIX ^
Sat Apr 2 || The Hague, Holland || Rewire Festival @ Paard van Troje || TIX
Mon Apr 4 || Hamburg, Germany || Uebel & Gefahrlich || TIX ^
Tues Apr 5 | Berlin, Germany || Postbahnhof || TIX ^
Thurs Apr 7 || Milan, Italy || C2C Festival @ Magazzini Generali || TIX ^
Fri Apr 8 || Stans, Switzerland || Stanser Musiktage Festival @ Kollegi || TIX
Sat Apr 9 || Paris, France || La Cigale || TIX ^
Mon Apr 11 || London, UK || 02 Shepherd’s Bush Empire || SOLD OUT ^
Tues Apr 12 || London, UK || 02 Shepherd’s Bush Empire TIX ^
Wed Apr 13 || Manchester, UK || 02 Ritz || TIX ^
Thurs Apr 28 || Fayetteville, AR || George’s Majestic Lounge || SOLD OUT +
Fri Apr 29-Sun May 1 || Austin, TX || Levitation || TIX
Sun May 1 || Tulsa, OK || Cains Ballroom || TIX +
Tues May 3 || St. Louis, MO || The Pageant || TIX +
Wed May 4 || Royal Oak, MI || Royal Oak Music Theatre || TIX +
Fri May 6 || Nashville, TN || Marathon Music Works || TIX +
Sat May 7 || Atlanta, GA || Buckhead Theatre || TIX +
Sun May 8 || Asheville, NC || Orange Peel || SOLD OUT +
Tues May 10 || Washington, DC || 9:30 Club || SOLD OUT +
Wed May 11 || Washington, DC || 9:30 Club || TIX +
Fri May 13 || Wilmington, DE || World Café Live at the Queen || SOLD OUT +
Sat May 14 || Sayreville, NJ || Starland Ballroom || TIX +
Jun 1-5 || Barcelona, Spain || Primavera Sound || TIX

* with Ratking
^ with GFOTY
+ with Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith

RELATED CONTENT:

Animal Collective announce Los Angeles date at Fonda Theatre

Advertisement

44 Best Los Angeles Concerts This February: Black Sabbath, Metric, Wet and more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *