Hot Chip cover Bruce Springsteen’s classic “Dancing In The Dark” — watch new video

Hot Chip

We’re usually not the biggest fans of cover songs or remixes, but Hot Chip just marveled us with their sensational cover of Bruce Springsteen’s classic 80s synth number “Dancing In The Dark”. Hot Chip’s version is an epic seven minutes of nostalgia which was recorded with a seven piece live band, featuring drummer Sarah Jones and multi-instrumentalist Rob Smoughton, at RAK Studios in London, and mixed by David Wrench. To top it all off, at about the five-minute mark the track morphs into LCD Soundsystem’s “All My Friends”. It’s truly a brilliant cover. You can watch the equally brilliant video below. Directed by Kieran Evans, the live footage was recorded over summer on Super 8 at Webster Hall in New York City and features a cameo from David Byrne and Sinkane who joined Hot Chip onstage for this song. It’s all about the classic vibes with “Dancing In The Dark” and Hot Chip have done it primo justice.

Hot Chip are set to release a brand new four-track EP entitled Dancing In the Dark, out this Friday October 23 via Dominoe Records. You can pre-order the EP here. The new EP features the aforementioned “Dancing In The Dark” as well as a reworking of ‘Cry For You’ taken from their recent full-length, Why Make Sense?. Both songs were recorded with a live band. Also included on the EP are remixes of their single, ‘Huarache Lights’, by Soulwax and A/Jus/Ted.

Watch Hot Chip’s new video for “Dancing In The Dark”:

 

Hot Chip Tour Dates:

Tue 20 Oct – UK, Nottingham, Rock City (w/ Georgia)
Wed 21 Oct – UK, Cambridge, Corn Exchange (w/ Georgia)
Thu 22 Oct – UK, London, O2 Brixton Academy (w/ Lonelady) (SOLD OUT)
Fri 23 Oct – UK, London, O2 Brixton Academy (SOLD OUT)
Thu 29 Oct – USA, Oakland, CA, Fox Theatre
Fri 6 Nov – Ire, Belfast, Limelight 1
Sat 7 Nov – Ire, Dublin, Metropolis Festival
Sun 8 Nov – Iceland, Reykjavik, Iceland Airwaves
Fri 13 Nov – UK, Margate, Dreamland ‘By The Sea’
Mon 16 Nov – NL, Amsterdam, Paradiso
Tue 17 Nov – Belgium, Antwerp, Trix
Wed 18 Nov – France, Paris, Casino de Paris
Thu 19 Nov – France, Reims, La Cartonnerie
Fri 27 Nov – Brazil, Rio De Janeiro, Sacadura 154
Sat 28 Nov – Brazil, São Paulo, Sonar São Paulo
Tue 1 Dec – Uruguay, Montevideo, Montevideo
Thu 3 Dec – Argentina, Buenos Aires, Sónar Buenos Aires
Sat 5 Dec – Chile, Santiago, Sónar Santiago
Mon 7 Dec – Colombia, Bogotá, Sónar Bogotá
Sat 23 Jan – Australia, Melbourne, Sugar Mountain Festival

RELATED CONTENT:

Hot Chip and !!! (chk chk chk) inspire Greek Theatre crowd to show their moves

“One Life Stand” by Hot Chip – Album Review

LCD Soundsystem at the Fox Theater Pomona – Show Review and Photo Galley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *