Gordi remembers in somber and tender textures her grandmother on new song “Sandwiches”

Gordi
Photo by Jess Gleeson

Gordi, the moniker adopted by Australian Sophie Payten, has shared a video for her new song “Sandwiches,” a surging anthem and tribute to her late grandmother. Directed by Justin Ridler, the video for the song is a somber, home-footage style production that warms itself around Gordi’s tender lyrical mementos of her grandmother’s memory in her life. Filmed on a small farm in Canowindra, Australia where her family has lived for over a century and only a hundred meters from where Payten’s grandmother actually lived, the song and film reverberate with a matriarchal strength. With its cascade of pulsing drums and gently strummed acoustics, wrapped in Gordi’s lush and tender murmurs, “Sandwiches” captures a sweet melancholy that is quintessential to the loss and remembrance of someone dear to you.

Gordi will be playing Hollywood Forever in Los Angeles on May 22, opening for Of Monsters and Men. Visit her Facebook, and Instagram to stay updated on new releases and tour announcements.

Watch Gordi’s video for her new song “Sandwiches”

Advertisement

Gordi tour:
Wed. Feb. 26 – Brussels, BE @ Forest National ^
Thu. Feb. 27 – Amsterdam, NL @ AFAS Live ^
Wed. April 29 – Raleigh, NC @ Red Hat Amphitheater *
Tue. May 5 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Stage AE *
Wed. May 6 – Detroit, MI @ Fillmore *
Tue. May 12 – Kansas City, MO @ Midland Theatre *
Wed. May 13 – Dallas, TX @ South Side Ballroom *
Thu. May 14 – Austin, TX @ ACL Live Moody Theatre *
Sun. May 17 – Guadalajara, MX @ Corona Capital Festival
Tue. May 19 – Mexico City, MX @ El Plaza Condessa *
Fri. May 22 – Los Angeles, CA @ Hollywood Forever Cemetery *
Wed. May 27 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall Lawn *
Fri. May 29 – St. Augustine, FL @ St. Augustine Amphitheater *
Sun. May 31 – Miami, FL @ Fillmore Miami *
Tue. June 2 – North Charleston, SC @ North Charleston PAC *
Thu. June 4 – Harrisburg, PA @ Riverfront Park Harrisburg University *
Fri. June 5 – Cooperstown, NY @ Brewery Ommegang *
^ with Bear’s Den
* with Of Monsters and Men

los angeles artists to watch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.