Durand Jones & The Indications gush hope in the face of pain on “Love Will Work It Out”

Durand Jones & The Indications
Photo by Ebru Yildiz

Durand Jones & The Indications have shared a new song off their imminent new album Private Space with “Love Will Work It Out,” a groovily mellow track that puts its faith in the love between people when faced with the adversity and pain of the last year. The single is also accompanied by a video directed by Weird Life which emblazons the band’s glowingly retro aesthetic in lush colors and warm lens flares. Inspired by the difficulties and tragedies of the pandemic era and the social justice movements that found themselves igniting right in the midst of it, “Love Will Work It Out” attempts to assuage the wounds with its slick melodies. Aaron Frazer and Durand Jones share the weight of their harmonies and lyrics — saturated as they are by both a sense of disillusionment and unconquerable hope.

niia at hollywood bowl

For the band, the song’s creation was a cathartic moment that had culminated from a creative dry spell caused by the constant bombardment of bad news related to the pandemic and racial/political chaos. “Watching modern day lynchings in the streets that I called home / I felt so helpless in the strife / But I knew I had to trust the faith that love would make it right,” Jones cries on the song, punctuating in no uncertain terms the horror of such a moment — but meeting it with the faith that love can set it right.

“We marched, protested, cried, wiped down our groceries, stopped wiping down our groceries, unplugged, breathed, replugged, reengaged,” the band explained. “And when music finally flowed, the first song we wrote together was ‘Love Will Work It Out.’ Because conflict and confrontation require bravery, and so does keeping the faith in the goodness of one another. It’s a big part of what so many people are fighting for- the benefit of the doubt, the ability to be seen as whole, the space to love and trust. It’s been a tough year, but we’ve come out the other side steady and hopeful.”

Durand Jones & The Indications’ new album Private Space is out July 30 via Dead Oceans, order it here. The band will also be playing the Hollywood Palladium for two nights on September 21-22. Visit their website, Twitter, and Instagram to stay updated on new releases and tour announcements.

Watch the video for Durand Jones & The Indications’ new song “Love Will Work It Out” below!

Grouplove at Hollywood Palladium

Durand Jones & The Indications tour:
Sat. Sep. 4 – Hershey, PA @ Harrisburg University At The Englewood
Tue. Sept. 7 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club w/ 79.5
Wed. Sep. 8 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer w/ 79.5
Fri. Sept. 10 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel w/ 79.5
Sat. Sept. 11 – Washington DC @ 9:30 Club w/ 79.5
Mon. Sept. 13 – Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre w/ 79.5
Tue. Sept. 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line w/ 79.5
Thu. Sept. 16 – Denver, CO @ Gothic Theater w/ 79.5
Fri. Sept. 17 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Commonwealth Room w/ 79.5
Mon. Sept. 20 – San Diego, CA @ Soma w/ 79.5
Mon. Sep. 21 – Los Angeles, CA @ Hollywood Palladium w/ 79.5
Wed. Sept. 22 – Los Angeles, CA @ Hollywood Palladium w/ 79.5 (sold out)
Thu. Sep. 23 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Santa Barbara Bowl w/ My Morning Jacket
Fri. Sept. 24 – Dana Point, CA @ Ohana Fest
Sat. Sep. 25 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre at UC Berkeley w/ My Morning Jacket
Tue. Sep. 28 – Troutdale, OR @ Edgefield w/ My Morning Jacket
Wed. Sep. 29 – Spokane, WA @ Spokane Pavilion at Riverfront w/ My Morning Jacket
Fri. Oct. 1 – Seattle, WA @ Paramount Theater w/ My Morning Jacket
Sat. Oct. 2 – Seattle, WA @ Paramount Theater w/ My Morning Jacket
Sun. Oct. 3 – Bend, OR @ Les Schwab Ampitheater w/ My Morning Jacket
Fri. Oct. 8 – Austin, TX @ Austin City Limits Music Festival
Thu. Oct. 28 – Sun. Oct. 31 – Live Oak, FL @ Suwanee Hulaween
Sun. May 22, 2022 – Monterey, CA @ California Roots Festival

Billie Eilish LA Phil Sound Stage
best new songs mobile
submit your new song
influential black women femalesingers
Halloween Sale-Up To 60% Off